National Pan-Hellenic Council


2022 Fall NPHC Exec Board


Let me first welcome you to the National Pan-Hellenic Council webpage for the University of Arkansas, the YOU of A. It is my sincere hope that you find the information here to be resourceful in learning more about the council. Our organizations have a long and rich history both nationally and locally. 

The National Pan-Hellenic Council, Incorporated was organized May 10, 1930 on the campus of Howard University during the time when African American students were deprived of the civil liberties that other students were given. The council is composed of the nine historically black fraternities and sororities: Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., Iota Phi Theta Fraternity Inc., Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc., Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc., and Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. Collectively, these fraternities and sororities are known as the "Divine Nine". Our purpose is "unanimity of thought and action as far as possible in the conduct of Greek letter collegiate fraternities and sororities, and to consider problems of mutual interest to its member organizations." The collective social and economic power of the NPHC has been a major source of change for the African-American community in America since its inception. 

The University of Arkansas' charter of the The National Pan-Hellenic Council, Incorporated was established in March of 1992. Locally, our member organizations consist of the following chapters: Kappa Iota Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.,Iota Tau Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., Kappa Kappa Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., Lambda Theta Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Phi Theta Chapter of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., Kappa Upsilon Chapter of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc., and the Gamma Eta Chapter of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. We strive to uphold the principles of our individual organizations as well as working together as a whole through brotherhood and sisterhood to excel in academics, service, and being of support to one another. NPHC promotes interaction through forums, meetings, and other mediums for the exchange of information and engages in cooperative programming and initiatives through various activities and functions. 

Becoming a member of any NPHC organization is a lifetime, financial commitment that should not be taken lightly. Once a member graduates, they should immediately activate with an alumni chapter. Being a member a NPHC Greek organization is a fulfilling and enjoyable experience. I encourage all prospective members to research each Greek letter organization by visiting local and national websites, attending educational and social events, and speaking with current members before one decides which organization they would like to be a part of. Please keep in mind that any organization you seek to become a member of does not define you, but rather you define the organization. Choosing and being chosen as a member of a Greek organization is an honor and a privilege. So, it is important to know who you are before you join. Remember, “you make the letters, don’t let the letters make you.”

So, if you see any member of NPHC, feel free to introduce yourself and get to know us. I personally look forward to meeting and getting to know you. I hope to see you at the upcoming NPHC events. If you have any questions concerning Greek Life and/or our council, please feel free to contact us at or by phone at 479.575.5001


Joshua Porchia
NPHC President


  • Outstanding Chapter Advisor - LaTonya Foster, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.
  • Outstanding NPHC Member - Amber Pinder, Alpha Kappa Alpha, Inc.; and Alexander Mitchell, Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. 
  • Outstanding Chapter President - Lashae Hall, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.
  • Academic Excellence:
    •      Spring - Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. 
    •      Fall - Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. 
  • Outstanding Executive Board Member - Ambrose Gammon, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.
  • Model Initiate - Haley tucker, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.  
  • Most Philanthropic Chapter - Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
  • Outstanding commitment to Community Service - Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.